Stockholm – quite possibly my favourite place in Wisconsin

We went to Stockholm, Wisconsin to visit the Pizza Farm for Father’s Day.  It’s only open on Tuesday’s and once Grant heard my idea he built on it and made it into an anniversary getaway.

I enjoy a lot of Scandinavian things.  I love to knit, so this is a bit of a given (remember my Norwegian Mittens??) and one of my favourite trips was to Norway to study printmaking when I was in College.  Grant wanted to make our 90-minute drive for pizza even more worthwhile.  It was the perfect way to celebrate our anniversary.  This place seemed about as Swedish as the name and we absolutely loved it.  We stayed at the Spring Street Inn where the owners rent two suites to guests.  We had homemade yogurt and blueberries in the fridge, lemon poppyseed loaf from a nearby bakery, coffee roasted locally and a jar of ginger snaps on gate leg table in the living room.  We were 100 feet from almost everything the town has to offer including a view of the lake, antique shops, bakeries, ceramic studios and blue cruiser bicycles anyone can borrow to ride around town.  It was such a sweet and relaxing way to spend our anniversary.  This is why I married Grant.  I come up with a crazy idea and he makes it happen – even better than I could have imagined!  We’re excited to go back to this town, especially because it is filled with artisans perfecting their craft.  Tomorrow I’ll post about the couple in the town who create large scale art for public spaces and taught me to spin yarn from the fleece of sheep they raise.

IMG_5500

IMG_5434

IMG_0658

IMG_5463

IMG_0656

IMG_5455

IMG_5454

IMG_5446

IMG_0645

IMG_0638

IMG_0634

IMG_5504

IMG_5498

IMG_5482

IMG_5480

IMG_5479

IMG_5476

Leave a Reply

