The Black Cat Farmstead

I’m a little late in posting this part of our trip to Stockholm.  A storm, power outage and getting ready to move next week all had me distracted.  I didn’t want to miss writing something about the Black Cat Farmstead, though.  It was quite possibly my favourite part of our less than 24 hour trip.

While we were on our way to the Pizza Farm, we saw signs with a black cat painted on them.  It said something about fibre, so I was intrigued.  We saw another flyer when we ordered our pizza advertising their hours on Pizza Night.  Apparently Pizza Night is quite a thing in these parts.

ImageAfter we ate, we packed up to head back to the B&B.  Grant suggested we go and I hesitated because we were already out past Will’s bedtime.  I caved, of course and that was a great decision.  The Black Cat Farmstead is wonderful!  We parked on a newly graveled parking lot next to an old house with a new foundation.  The house has some connection to Laura Ingallas Wilder and originally was on someone else’s land.  The owners were delighted to move it and have a part of history.  Inside the old house was an array of hand spun yarns from the sheep that live on the farm, various spinning wheels, drop spindles and even an enormous loom the size of a room that had been restored.  The couple that owns the farm was so welcoming.  I learned to spin wool using a drop spindle and was able to see several of the other methods in action too.  I never knew anything about spinning prior to this, but I can see how it can become addicting.  My favourite part was as I was learning to spin the wool, Andrea kept referring to the sheep by name and she knew the fleece belonged to him not only because of the colour, but because of how soft it was too.  It has been a far fetched dream of mine to have sheep and angora rabbits and learn to spin yarn from their fleece or fur.  I was able to buy some of Henry’s wool.  I am confident that is not actually his name, but I like to imagine I know his name while I practice.

IMG_5431IMG_5432IMG_5433IMG_5594

IMG_5441My first attempt at spinning.

While all of this was happening, Grant got to explore the couple’s “bread and butter” (the farm and fibre are a hobby).  They do large scale sculptures.  We have a few photos of that too.  If you’re heading out to Stockholm for pizza, definitely stop by.  Or head there just for the fibre – it’s well worth the trip too.ImageImageImage

IMG_5590

Leave a Reply

