Blueberry Scones

Yesterday was not the easiest of days.

Will and I went to the car dealership for some regular maintenance and since sitting in a waiting room with a 1-year old is not my idea of fun, we ventured over to Costco to do some grocery shopping instead.  The walk was pretty un-stroller-friendly and things took longer than we had hoped with the car.  Nothing big, just tiring.  Then Will screamed and cried and threw a tantrum for no apparent reason for the rest of the day.  Pretty unlike him and needless to say I was feeling frazzled.  So I made blueberry scones from the blueberries I bought at Costco.  And as you can imagine, I still have a lot of blueberries left over.

This recipe was delicious and is from Martha Stewart.  It makes 9 very large scones.  Yum!

Image

Ingredients:
  • 3 cups of flour
  • 2 1/2 teaspoons of baking powder
  • 1/2 cup of sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon of baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon of salt
  • 3/4 cup of butter
  • 1 egg
  • 1 cup of buttermilk.  (I didn’t have any, so I used half and half.  They still taste great)
  • 3/4 cup of blueberries (I used more like 1 1/4 cups since I like these to be full of blueberries)

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 450 degrees.  Put all dry ingredients into a large bowl and sift with a whisk.  Cut in butter.  I find it super easy to do this step with a food processor since I don’t have a pastry blender and I love to find any reason to use my food processor.  It takes about 5 seconds and the butter and dry ingredients are combined perfectly.
  2. In a separate bowl, beat together the egg and buttermilk/half and half.  Fold into the dry ingredients.  Then fold in the fruit.
  3. Drop onto baking sheets, 3 inches apart.  You can brush the tops with cream if you’d like.

Image

Even Will loved the scones!Image

2 thoughts on “Blueberry Scones

  1. I started to make the Blueberry scones and in the instructions you said to miix the egg/buttermilk mixture together but in the list of ingredients there are no eggs listed. I added two beaten eggs and it worked beautifully. The scones were light and delicious.

Leave a Reply

