Blueberry Crisp

A few weeks ago I picked up the book Bread and Wine after hearing a few friends recommend it.  It’s definitely my kind of book, especially when the subtitle is “a love letter to life around the table.”  I enjoy good food and only like cooking when someone else will enjoy it too.

I haven’t been reading as much these days as I used to, but this book I found hard to put down and as I near the end I think I may just have to try and find her other two books, Cold Tangerines and Bittersweet.  It is fantastic!

Bread&Wine

I love this book because it is filled with memories and the meals that evoke them.  Kind of like how smells can take us back to a particular time or place.  It is also filled with recipes.  I have tried a few and honestly haven’t loved them.  There are more that I’d like to try though, and I’m always a fan of experimenting with something new.  The recipe for Blueberry Crisp though, was delicious.  (Don’t mind the super dark photos.  I took these in our old apartment.  We didn’t have the brightest of kitchens.)

Ingredients:
4 cups blueberries

Topping:
1 cup old-fashioned oats
1/2 cup raw, unsalted pecans, halved or chopped (I didn’t have these so I left them out)
1/2 cup almond meal (just pop almonds into the food processor, but just don’t do it too long or you’ll end up with almond butter)
1/4 cup maple syrup
1/4 cup olive oil
1/2 teaspoon salt

IMG_0548

Turn your almonds into almond meal
IMG_0554

Mix together the crisp or topping ingredients

IMG_0552

Pour berries into an 8 x 8 pan and then layer the topping over it.  Bake at 350 for 35-40 minutes until fruit is bubbling and topping is crisp and golden.  If you want, you can make the topping in batches and freeze it.  Blueberries also freeze well, so if this is frozen when you put it in the oven, add about 10 minutes.
IMG_0568

Serves 4 to 6.

Note: This is even more delicious over vanilla ice cream or over yogurt in the morning.

Leave a Reply

