My Favourite Chili – Recipe

This is by far my favourite chili. and it is PERFECT on fall days.  It is vegetarian and even though I do eat meat, I really hate browning ground beef.  Not browning meat is one of the best parts of this chili.  That, and it’s delicious, easy and quick to make.  I’ve modified the recipe quite a bit, but the original recipe is found here.

IMG_2125

Ingredients:

2 Tbsp. Vegetable Oil
1 medium yellow onion, chopped*
1 large red pepper, seeded and chopped*
1 large green pepper, seeded and chopped*
1 large jalapeño pepper, seeded and chopped*
4 cloves of garlic, crushed*
32 oz. container of vegetable stock (I often use chicken because it’s what I usually have at home) or 1 bottle of beer and about 20 oz. of stock.
28 oz. can of crushed tomatoes
14 oz. can of black beans
14 oz. can of dark red kidney beans
1 Tbsp. ground cumin
4 tsp. chili powder (up to 3 Tablespoons depending on how spicy you like your chili)
several drops of Tabasco sauce
1 tsp. coarse salt
1 can of vegetarian refried beans

* I put the onion, peppers and garlic in the food processor and pulse until they’re chopped fine (there is a photo below of this).  The chili is chunky because of the beans too and I find that the more they’re chopped, the tastier the chili is as a whole.  Obviously, you’re welcome to chop by hand if you’d like.  I just take advantage of any excuse to use the food processor.

Toppings:

8 oz. cheddar cheese, shredded
Green Onions, chopped
Tortilla chips

Directions:

First chop the onion, peppers and garlic.  I do this in the food processor after everything is seeded.

IMG_2099

IMG_2102

Over moderate heat, add oil to a large pot and combine onion, peppers, and garlic.

IMG_2094

IMG_2105I puree the veggies quite a bit in the food processor.  If you like a chunkier chili, just chop less.  Saute for 3-5 minutes to soften vegetables. Deglaze pan with beer and broth (or just broth).

IMG_2107

IMG_2120Add tomatoes, black beans, red kidney beans, and stir to combine.  Add refried beans to thicken.  Season chili with cumin, chili powder, hot sauce and salt.

IMG_2123Heat through and then simmer over low heat for 5-10 minutes.

IMG_2129Serve topped with cheddar cheese and green onions (which I didn’t have).  And make sure to have a big pile of corn chips because my favourite way to eat this is not with a spoon, but scooping chili with the chips.

Note: I add quite a bit more liquid to this recipe than it originally calls for and a lot less chili powder.  Originally it was because I didn’t want to open a whole 32 oz. carton of chicken stock and then only use 1 cup of it, so I dumped it all in.  Even with all the liquid I find that this recipe is thick and chunky and delicious.  Plus, it makes a few extra bowls with each batch this way.  This is a super easy recipe to modify and I’m not usually one for modifying recipes that much.  Maybe as I learn to be a better cook I’ll do this more.

Leave a Reply

