Bread Sings

I’ve always wanted to try making bread.  I LOVE bread.  I have always been able to eat an unbelievable amount of bread in a sitting.  Restaurants with all you can eat bread on the table are dangerous.  A few years ago when I found out I had to cut wheat out of my diet, I was devastated.  Luckily for me, my first pregnancy seems to have cured me of my wheat intolerance.  Bagels were all that little boy wanted and I obliged.  In between pregnancies I went back to a (mostly) wheat free diet since it was so much healthier and I enjoyed the food more, but there is still a little bread-loving boy in our household so I figured this was my chance to try making bread.  

Image

Did you know that bread sings when it comes out of the oven?  I didn’t and it is incredible to hear the crackling of the crust as the bread starts to cool.  I used a no knead recipe from Jim Lahey.  The recipe and instructions can be found here.

A friend also lent us the book “Artisan Bread in 5 Minutes a Day.”  I haven’t tried anything out of that book yet, but I think the pizza crust may be our next experiment.  And if I can ever dig our car out of the snowbank it’s currently in, I have a few of Jim Lahey’s books on hold at the public library.  Sourdough is the bread I really want to try making since it is our favourite, but caring for the bread starter feels a little daunting.  Maybe once I get a few more loaves under my belt I’ll be more confident.

If you’ve ever wanted to try making bread, I HIGHLY recommend this recipe.  All you need is a dutch oven and four simple ingredients and barely any patience… it’s that easy!

Leave a Reply

