Tying a knot

I am a perfectionist.   I blame my mom for it and she blames my grandma.  (For the record, I wouldn’t have it any other way, love you mum!).  When we got married, I tied ribbon on each of the wedding invitations I made.  It took me a few tries to figure out the way to tie a knot so the ribbon was flat and the knot smooth.  I am also quite certain I am the only one who cared, and I am totally fine with that.

I started making these headbands for Felicity and was able to put my knot tying knowledge to good use.  Since the size is adjustable and the headbands are washable, I thought I’d share how I tie these knots.  I also included photos at the end on how to adjust the size without taking it completely apart!

First, match the two ends
IMG_6093

I used a book just to hold the fabric stable and make them a consistent size.  You don’t need to wrap it around anything in order to tie it, but it does make it a little easier.  A book is also easier than trying to tie it on our baby’s head since she is on the move these days.

Cross the left side over the right and fold it under
IMG_6094 IMG_6096

Pull the ends into a cross shape.

IMG_6098

This step was hard to get a photo of.  You will tie a second knot by placing the end that is in your left hand over the one in your right hand.  The one in your right hand will stay put and the one in your left hand will fold under to form the knot.  Keeping the right side still is what keeps the knot nice and smooth.

IMG_6100

Grab the left end underneath the loop on the right with your right hand.  The ends will be in your opposite hands now.

IMG_6101

  All that is left is to pull the ends tight and smooth the fabric on the top of the knot. IMG_6102 IMG_6103 IMG_6104 IMG_6107 IMG_6109

You can also adjust the headband without untying it.

First, loosen the top of the knot a little bit without untying it.

IMG_6110 IMG_6111

Then, pull on the head band to re-tighten the knot.IMG_6112 IMG_6113

The knot may twist a little, but all you need to do is reshape the fabric ties.  And voi la!

IMG_6114

These headbands can be purchased < here >… and they do come tied.  *wink*

Leave a Reply

