Hudson Bay Point Blanket Quilt

I have been wanting to make this quilt for a very long time.  I thought it would be a perfect fit for Will’s big kid room since I thought it was going to be a lot of work and I wanted it to last a long time.  I held off on making it since the task seemed too daunting until I got my new Bernina sewing machine last spring.  I tried making a pillow sham first and loved it, so for Christmas I decided to try the quilt.  It was much, MUCH more work than I thought it would be.  I have a new found respect for those who quilt on a regular basis.

IMG_8475

It took me about a month working on it off and on.  It was pretty simple to piece together and quilting in straight lines is a piece of cake compared to the designs and patterns that I’ve seen, but it was hard to work with something so big when it would slip off the table or get bunched up under my fairly small sewing machine.  Maybe I should go learn how to use this machine.

IMG_2735IMG_3395IMG_8442IMG_8448IMG_8476IMG_8480IMG_8483IMG_3538

Of course Felicity’s doll needed a matching quilt for her matching bed!

And what does Will think of his new quilt you may ask?

His exact words were:
“I don’t wike it mommy.  Let’s give it to somebody else.”  
Oh, three year olds!  In fact, it’s a bit of a miracle that it was on his bed this morning since all day yesterday he kept taking it off.

IMG_8455

One thought on “Hudson Bay Point Blanket Quilt

Leave a Reply

